The Law Office of Brian J. Mirandola


47 DuPage Court, Elgin, IL 60120


Understanding Misdemeanor Charges in Illinois

 Posted on December 05, 2023 in Criminal Defense

Aurora, IL criminal defense lawyerMisdemeanor charges are plentiful in the state of Illinois. Though a misdemeanor will typically carry a penalty lesser than a felony, it should be taken no less seriously. There are several different types of misdemeanors one can face charges of in Illinois. Each misdemeanor carries its own penalties and sentencing. An experienced criminal defense attorney is a good friend to have when facing misdemeanor charges or any criminal charges in Illinois.

Understanding Illinois Criminal Charges

Not all misdemeanor charges require legal representation but a good lawyer is always something to consider when being charged with any criminal offenses. Misdemeanors are categorized as a lower class of criminal charge, felonies being the higher of the two. A petty offense is the lowest charge possible, only resulting in a fine. Which charge you receive depends on the specifics of the crime.

A misdemeanor penalty will often require a fine and/or a year or less in a county or local jail. It can often also require probation, community service, or a combination of the two in place of jail time. As misdemeanors are a lower class criminal offense, they rarely mandate a prison sentence, whereas felonies are often penalized with one year or more in a state prison.

Misdemeanor Classes

Illinois has organized its misdemeanors into three classes: A, B, and C. Each class has its own series of potential penalties, which may or may not have a statute of limitations attached to them regarding the time frame in which charges can be filed.

What you can expect if convicted of a misdemeanor charge by class includes:

  • Class A Misdemeanor: Less than a year in county jail and a fine of up to $2,500. Probation of up to two years is also possible.

  • Class B Misdemeanor: Up to six months in a county jail and a fine of up to $1,500. Probation of up to two years is possible.

  • Class C Misdemeanor: Up to 30 days in a county or local jail with a fine of up to $1,500. Probation of up to two years is possible.

In all cases, the sentence a judge hands out will depend on their discretion and the strength of your defense.

List of Misdemeanors

Misdemeanors are considered criminal charges, and as such, convictions will go on your criminal record. Misdemeanor charges you can face may include:

Contact a Kane County, IL Criminal Defense Attorney

Misdemeanor convictions, though lower in class than a felony, can still create problems for your future. Do everything you can to avoid conviction by consulting an Aurora, IL criminal misdemeanors lawyer immediately after being charged or investigated. Contact the The Law Office of Brian J. Mirandola at 847-488-0889 so that we can go over your charges in a free consultation.

Share this post:
Avvo Illinois State Bar Association Kane COunty Bar Association
Back to Top